By on

yelp reviews disappeared

The Problem: Your Yelp Reviews Have Disappeared

Yelp is one of today’s most popular and influential review sites.

Reviews and ratings on your business page have the power to shape your brand reputation, influence consumer behavior, and even improve your search engine visibility.

Sometimes, though, these reviews go missing from your Yelp business page.

This can be frustrating. Imagine a Yelp user arriving at your business page without being able to read a positive review posted by one of your most loyal customers.

Has this issue affected your business? Don’t panic. We’ve got you covered.

“My Yelp Reviews Disappeared!”: Why This Happened

There are a number of reasons why a Yelp review has disappeared. Let’s break down some of the most common ones:

The review is fake.

The most obvious reason for Yelp removing a review from a business page is that the review is fake.

While the site does not typically take sides in factual disputes, Yelp moderators can independently verify questionable reviews that have been flagged and reported. For reviews deemed by moderators to be fake, the result is removal of the review from the Yelp business page.  

The author deleted the review.

If the author deleted the review, you will not be able to get the review back, regardless of whether it was positive or negative. The only way you can have it displayed again on your Yelp page is if the author writes the exact same review.

Yelp removed the review because it violated content guidelines.

Yelp’s guidelines include:

  • There should be no threats or hate speech in any review.
  • There should be no conflicts of interest in a review. So if a consumer posts a review on a relative’s business site, for example, then it’s against Yelp’s content guidelines.
  • There should be no promotional content found in a Yelp review.
  • Review content should be relevant to the business.
  • Review content shouldn’t violate another person’s privacy. For example, a review shouldn’t contain a photo of other customers without their permission.
  • The review must be original.

So what kind of reviews does Yelp accept? “The best reviews are passionate and personal,” according to Yelp. “They offer a rich narrative, a wealth of detail, and a helpful tip or two for other consumers.”

Yelp filtered the review.

Yelp filters reviews if the review is considered “not recommended.” The Yelp review filter was built to make sure reviews are as unbiased and organic as possible.

According to Yelp, “Every review is automatically evaluated by Yelp’s recommendation software based on Quality, Reliability, and User Activity.”

The review could be filtered if:

  • The reviewer does not have a complete profile
  • The reviewer does not have social integration
  • The reviewer has only positive reviews
  • The review was submitted from an IP located somewhere else
  • The reviews are originating from the same computer
  • The reviewer does not have Yelp friends

Yelp says that it regularly evaluates the reviews caught by its filter, so that a filtered review can still be reinstated once it’s proven to be legitimate and written by a trustworthy Yelp user. That’s why, if you’re monitoring the reviews on your Yelp listing’s review tab, you’ll notice some come and some go. The order of reviews can even change, depending on the trustworthiness of the Yelp users who’ve written a review of your business.

Yelp’s review filter should not dissuade your business from trying to garner great reviews by offering excellent products and services, and engaging with your audience by promptly responding to online reviews.

Keep in mind that asking for Yelp reviews is discouraged. Instead, we recommend you spend time engaging with prior reviewers via review responses and building a business rooted in excellence in order to earn your reviews fair and square.

Yelp Reviews Disappeared: What You Can (and Can’t) Do

While it’s hard to say exactly what you can do to make sure Yelp does not remove or filter reviews, we know what you should not do.

If we look at Yelp’s content guidelines, there are a few rules you can follow that will prevent problems of Yelp reviews disappearing from your business page.

What not to do

  • Don’t use promotional content on your site.
  • Don’t ask for reviews from friends or family.

Make the effort to engage with your customers on Yelp. Respond to their reviews. Listen to their concerns. If you talk with your Yelp community and build relationships, then you’ll get reviews from reviewers who are consistently active on Yelp, who have complete profiles that link to social accounts, who post negative and positive reviews, and who have friends in the Yelp community.

As a business owner, you should also feel free to use your Yelp business account to publicly or directly respond to any inaccuracies in the review.

Migs Bassig

Migs is the Content Manager for ReviewTrackers. He's a creative writer who has helped numerous companies communicate more effectively online, and he loves sharing his local marketing knowledge to help brands and business succeed.

Discussion

  1. Cheryl Arnold

    All 5 of the reviews our company has received are now missing. Even if 25% were removed it wouldn’t add up to all 5. I have paperwork to verify that they were all customers who phoned in for a plumber and paid for a service. I find this extremely unsettling. I personally will never post another YELP review for anyone. Too bad!!!

    Reply
    • Irene

      Hi Cheryl.. I have the same issue with you.. Some of our good reviews disappear. I don’t know why… And the numbers of our review never go up cause Yelp keep on take out the review if customer add new review.

      Reply
  2. Mike

    I wish this articles covered the opposite scenario. I’ve had multiple negative reviews disappear from certain businesses’ Yelp pages and see the other negative reviews disappear too. Yet when I log into my account I can see my reviews are still there, they’re just not visible to anyone else. It’s like a shadow ban, and I’m assuming the reason is someone paid for that to happen. I have no faith in Yelp, and it’s weird to me that this article acts like the businesses are victims.

    Reply
  3. Amanda Eicher

    I would be very concerned if I saw my reviews were disappearing on yelp. I don’t think I have lost faith in the company yet. I would contact their customer service and see if you can find any explanation for the deleted comments. And if they were deleted for the reasons in this blog then I would know that yelp is doing their job to protect the integrity of the reviews that have been left.

    Reply
  4. Alex

    Hi Amanda.
    It is wery strange because i called yesterday the costumer service of yelp and they answered me that they do not delete the reviews that are posted. On my question: “where are the revies that i have posted on my instagram page that i made screenshot” she said, that she don’t know and nobody will give me an answer. That was so unprofessional from the yelp. Only the reviewer can delete the review. I have the same problems as the business. I have daily 10 clients in my salon and i ask then to review my salon. Some of them review good some bad. I have noticed that good reviews are deleted. I have a bunch of screenshots af my reviews deleted by yelp with no reason. Interesting fact. I recieved a call from yelp couple weeks ago to rase my budget for yelp ads. I decided not to do that, so i think they are doing it just to keep businesses to pay them for leaving the reviews!

    Reply
  5. Amy Lesemann

    I wonder if it is because my reviews were a few years old? They were all there for quite awhile – now they’re gone! it doesn’t make sense!

    Reply
  6. anne collinsreed

    It is not because they are old. Some kind of scam. Only negatives show up for certain businesses. The same ones rated high on Google and Facebook. Makes Yelp look very bad if keeping track. I do not trust this at all anymore.

    Reply
  7. Terry D Mitchell

    I did not violate any yelp guidelines and somehow the company had my review completely removed, I have contacted yelp to see why. In the meantime, I am wondering if I can leave them another review if Yelp has removed it or should I wait and see what Yelp replies with?

    Reply
  8. Ricardo Giacoman

    I opened a Yelp Account at the beginning of this year and all I did was to let my past clients know about it. I received three Yelp reviews and months later I got two more; however, Yelp decided to hide them and I don’t know why. These people that posted the comments are real clients and I don’t see why Yelp decided to pick and choose what comments to remove. I think they either should have contacted me and ask me for some proof that they are real clients or contact my clients. I wish I hadn’t opened an account.

    Reply
  9. Mary

    Yelp and their scams are being EXPOSED in this documentary BILLION DOLLAR BULLY.

    To offer reviews AND paid advertising makes their website show money is their motive.

    THOUSANDS of businesses have and continue to be scammed by them.

    Guess what Yelp, your karma cometh!

    Reply
  10. liz

    it is very odd that yelp will keep certain reviews on a business name. When they clearly state biased statements towards a business. I have record of all good reviews that were submitted by customers that are very happy. All of them have disappeared. Its clearly not a very good source to use. All they want is for a business to put money towards there ads. This should be against the law and reported to consumer affairs.

    Reply
  11. suzie

    Hello, I’m inquiring about false yelp reviews and see what we can do to remove them.

    Reply
  12. Carl Pollitt

    I have taught many students to drive and most of my positive reviews have been deleted. How is this fair, especially when the competitions reviews continue to grow?

    Reply
  13. christopher eles

    Yelp hurts small Business, they have removed 50% of my reviews. I have a 5-star rating and im sure if i had any bad reviews they would never remove them. Yelp constantly calls my Business to advertise with them and I assured them when they put my removed reviews back up we can talk. they stopped calling. Yelp sucks, ask any business owner!

    Reply
  14. alan horowitz

    Exactly 2 weeks ago I had 64 yelp reviews-today I have 50. They were moved to being filtered. They are not spammy or anything yet every day 2 or 3 disappear. My competitors reviews have all not been affected. I spoke with customer service and thus far I have only gotten the rehearsed vanilla answers-I do everything by the book, how can 15 reviews in 2 weeks get filtered just like that???

    Reply
  15. Arie

    Around 40 reviews are removed from my business only this month
    I am wondering if it is anything to do with the fact that I refuse to pay Yelp
    I am loosing faith in this company
    Lucky to have google

    Reply
  16. John

    We have lost 10 good old reviews in the last month. It happens to coincide with no longer advertising with yelp. We also don’t answer their frequent sales calls. This is clearly a tactic to get us to advertise again. We will focus on google reviews and other advertising as this is probably not a sustainable model for the long run.

    Reply
  17. mark

    I had about 52 yelp reviews showing for my business and another 40 or so in the “not recommended ” area. And in the last 10 days yelp erased 23 of my reviews and put them to the dark side. WTF ? For no reason at all. I only get about 1 review per month at most so these had all been acceptable for a the last 1.5 years and now suddenly in one week they decide they are all not worthy. I hate them.

    Reply
  18. Brad

    Just this past month I have lost 13 reviews! I was at 139 and now down to 126! All of my reviews are from real
    Customers and they were good, heartfelt reviews about their experience w my company . I can’t believe and don’t understand Yelp

    Reply
  19. Richard

    Yelp called me to pay for adds, I said no, now my reviews are being removed. Very bad business. I love Google business!

    Reply
  20. Ibrahim Kural

    I had 39 ,5 star reviews now down to 15 for no particular reason. I always heard if you do paid advertising and cancel they do this but I never sign up with them, I don’t even talk to them.
    When they call me next time, they will see real me…

    Reply
  21. Mark F.

    I am in the same boat as all these recent posts. Just in the last 3 weeks yelp is removing all my reviews from the last couple of years. I had in the mid 50’s legitimate reviews over the last 5 years or so and now I’m down to 18 in the last 3 weeks. I do not pay for advertising and am wondering if that is why now.

    Reply
  22. Garron

    I had 105 reviews all 5 stars. Over the past month I’ve lost 36 now down to 69 and falling. I’ve called Yelp several times and always get the same answer that its just their auto algorithm. My competitors have lost about 10 so I don’t understand why the difference? I’m also a paid advertiser with them. It’s really frustrating…

    Reply
  23. Andrea

    This same exact thing has happened to me. From November 5 to November 26, 33 of my 5-star reviews were moved from recommended to not recommended. I am a one-person business and don’t get a lot of reviews but many of the hidden reviews had been posted for years. I have never advertised with Yelp and have 91 reviews total, all of which are 5 star and are true, non-solicited reviews. My competitors have not been affected by this at all. While I went from 13% to 47% of my total reviews being hidden over the past several weeks, they still only have about 20-22% of their reviews hidden and as far as I can tell, they don’t advertise with Yelp. It wouldn’t bother me so much if everyone was affected equally, but is very frustrating that this is only affecting my business.

    Reply
  24. Robert

    Join the crowd! I was as at 192 – 5-star reviews. A month later – 167 with 85 filtered. Now I’m rated at 4.5 stars with less than 4 – 1-star malicious reviews.
    Today I’m canceling my paid advertising. Why would I pay someone to hurt my business. Google business will be the leader in the review category by next year.

    Reply
  25. Jacob

    Their has to of been something that changed very recently in yelp because in November everyone has been negatively affected. Went from over 150 5star reviews to 83 in just a few weeks. I have 105 unrecomended for my small business…which means I have what like 60% of our reviews unrecommended…lol it’s gettig worse and worse and we have no clue how to stop it. It’s starting to affect our business and we can feel it.

    Reply
  26. Billy Syms

    I also have gone from 111 to 83 reviews in this time period. Yelp never answers why or explains how this criteria works, more like the algorithm is this Wizard of Oz behind the curtain nonsense. Yelp generates lots of business for me but I do pay monthly and am fustrated why they will not explain why my “Not Reccomended” reviews now out number my competitors real reviews. I’m the best at what I do out here. My reviews are non solicated. Guys like me legitimise Yelp. They don’t seem to be business people.

    Reply
  27. pedram

    I am in the same boat with most everyone here. I had 53 reviews as a property manager. This was built over a period of over 6 years so was not overnight. Yelp removed exactly 21 of my 5 Star reviews and landed me at 32. I got 2 new reviews in the past 10 days and Yelp took my reviews from 38 to the current 32.
    My nearest competitor whom I was told by a Yelp Advertising Rep is paying about $2000 monthly in Yelp Ads had 2 reviews removed during the same period. So apparently Yelp thinks I am a scammer and have been soliciting to get these reviews (although these reviews were built with hard work over a 6-year period), and my nearest competitor who pays dearly for advertising and have been around the block for 2 years at most, have 30 reviews and they’ve put me at par with them.

    I started paying for advertising by spending $450 a month but I cancelled it immediately as I don’t believe in Yelp any longer, a business who does more damage than it does good. Time to move on to Google…

    Reply
  28. Dan

    Same thing happened with my business as well. Went from 69 reviews to 23 in the past 2 months (losing about 5 every week). Not surprising that most of these comments have come in the past couple of months, coinciding with Yelp’s stock tanking 30%. Their business model is dying (look at their recent quarterly report) and this seems to be their last attempt at extorting people out of money. I’m a little surprised that people that are paying for ads are also losing reviews (what is Yelp’s strategy here?). Yelp sales reps are some of the most pushy and aggressive people I’ve ever had to deal with. Anybody who’s ever used Yelp ads knows that their advertising platform is non-transparent garbage.

    Reply
  29. Marc

    Just lost 10% of my 5 star reviews in the last few weeks.

    Reply
  30. Brad

    My company has lost 35 reviews in 2 months!!!! They even sent our company a thanks you card.People love us on yulp!!! Sure!! We took that down from our wall because it says we have 78 happy customers…. We are down to 50 reviews and 62 filtered. This is wrong!!!!!! What’s going on with this company?

    Reply
  31. Don Stanley

    I’m in the same boat. I just lost 9 five-star reviews in the last month(half of total reviews). All from what look to be active Yelp users with friends. However, the one-star review from 2011 from someone with no friends/picture/profile still shows up. Not sure what Yelp is trying to pull, but I think my advertising dollars will switch over to Facebook and Google. Yelp is dead to me.

    Reply
  32. Robert

    I’m a small business that had ten 5 star (valid) reviews that I’ve accumulated over the last year. Yelp has been relentless in trying to get me to buy ads with them. I finally told the rep to stop calling that I could not afford any additional cost at this time and she got pretty testy with me and said I was making a mistake. Just one week later all my reviews are gone. I think that is known as blackmail, pay or we’ll hurt your business.

    Reply
  33. K.B

    YELP could care less about small business owners. I’m a one woman show and YELP is killing my business, especially in the past month. I went from 69 reviews to now 50. YELP also keeps calling and harassing me to advertise with them. I did in the past and didn’t see any difference. I still pay the $70 to keep my page from other business ads and reviews interfering with mine.
    Last conversation with YELP I pretty much told them that they were crooks and to never call me again. 3 more got taken down after that. I don’t even know what to do anymore? I try not to worry about it, but then I checked today and the numbers went down again. FUCK YELP!

    Reply
  34. Don Stanley

    Yelp just filtered 7 five star reviews in the last two weeks (of 24 total reviews). These are genuine reviews coming from legit customers, I have seen them in my store! Seems like Yelp favors the corporate stores in the area who advertise with them and are helping them put small stores like mine out of business! I’m speechless..

    Reply
  35. Bill S

    Same with me I had 5 stars

    Reply
  36. Vlad

    I am doing hardwood flooring business. I got 8 5-star reviews on Yelp. All from real people, all I can prove if needed, all from different locations. And month my month Yelp keeps deleting my reviews. Now I have none of them. Not 20, 30 or 50 percent missing. I have zero reviews. I am very disappointed. As a small business owner, I feel oppressed, this is isn’t right.

    Reply
  37. Arie Mich

    More then 70 reviews disappeared from my account every day little by little
    Only 5 star reviews that where legit with customers check ins.
    I do not wish to do business with Yelp at this point I really dont care about this company it feels like bias the whole thing if you dont pay after a while they will make sure that your reviews will disappear
    Google and yahoo are my favorite .

    Reply
  38. George Morariu

    I see many similar comments on disappearing 5 star reviews but no explanation or resolution. Up to one month ago I had 33 yelp reviews with the majority being 1+ years old…. I now have only 17 recommended. I contacted Yelp who advised the algorithm is applied equally to all businesses. I think there is more to that because when I research the yelpers who dropped out of my page their reviews of other businesses are being displayed. I work extremely hard for my clients and very few go out of their way and take the time to write a review…

    Bottom line… I have 17 reviews recommended by yelp and 17 which are not. 12 of those not recommended on my site are recommended on other businesses. The content of my hidden reviews are comparable to those displayed for other businesses….. How could that be?

    Reply
  39. Sam

    Same thing happened to me, I’ve lost 50% of my 5 star reviews for my business. I suspect that YELP as a company does not have enough capacity to store incoming reviews so instead of investing in newer technologie$, they came up with a new scheme to dump reviews and blame it on the new algorithm they claim is purging reviews based on the merits which is untrue. I used to spend $1000.00 a month but, I no longer advertise with them and just pay them $75.00 a month just to keep my business on their system. Google is here to stay and YELP will be DUMP.

    Reply
  40. George Morariu

    Sane here… I posted a comment to this discussion and it is not captured

    Reply
  41. Shaneela Marlett

    This month I have 7 reviews now and 38 not recommended. Yelp hid 20 of my reviews in the course of a month with no explanation. These are all my clients, most with yelp profiles, multiple reviews and yelp friends.

    Reply
  42. Steve

    In October 9th 2018 I had 100 and as of today 12/4/18 I have 42

    We also received 10 during this period which means they filtered 78 in less than 2 months.

    1.5 years worth of work down the drain

    Yelp sucks for small business. While they do bring business they also hold your business back. I wish I would have gotten them on google.

    Reply
  43. GEORGE morariu

    2 months ago I had 33 five star reviews. I now only have 17. Reviews that drop or 5 Star reviews that were on my profile and were four years old. When I look at the reviews I dropped. I can see how algorithm 0 friends or only one or two reviews. that only applies to four of them and not to the remaining 12. the 12 V Star reviews that dropped out are Avid yelpers with multiple friends and reviews. and what is even more concerning is the fact that these yelpers no longer displayed on my business page are displayed on other businesses. When I contact Yelp they tell me it is there algorithm that determines which reviews will be displayed and which will not. They also advise that everyone is treated the same across the board. based on my research this is obviously not the case and there is something that has happened to their algorithm within the last couple of months. I realize that Yelp is a business that needs to generate Revenue and that they are always tweaking things in order to accomplish that for example when someone now request information from a particular business Yelp automatically sends the request to multiple other businesses unless the Yelp notices and excludes them. The only way to avoid this is to pay for advertising so that process can be eliminated for the business owner as well as banner ads. My two cents… I don’t know what leverage business owners may have says we are not paying for Yelp to promote our business

    Reply
  44. Phillipe

    This is the yelp strategy to get you in their advertising system. Everybody is impacted. Dont ask why some reviews stay and others remove. Their new algoritm is to remove 20-30% of your reviews and yelp expects that you gonna pay their ads in order to save the few reviews left.

    I have invested my time and little money on Google ads since a year. No regret. I got more customers from Google. And guess what? Google insists that you ask review from your customer. I have now more than 100 reviews.

    I used to pay Yelp ads for a one year program. Honestly, i dont think it made a difference. My average customer leads has not changed.

    Google is smarter about showing your profile in their search.

    Yelp is doomed. Mark my words, google is the next yelp.

    Reply
  45. Aroma Earth

    YELP SUCKS!!!

    I just got off the phone with a rep. I have 29 LEGITIMATE reviews.. Only 9 are showing! And like you the ones removed were older already approved reviews! He said they are aware of the issue but that there is nothing they can do about it?!?!?! What a HORRIBLE company!!!! I will NEVER pay for advertising with them! EVER!!

    Reply
  46. Pissed Off Yelp

    You know what really stinks? Yelp will win because no one has the time or energy to go after them. Plus if you do go after them they will…. win. Karma? Will it matter when most of us will be in bad shape trying to recover. My advice is continue to get google reviews. In the long run Yelp will go away.

    Reply
  47. Emily

    Absolutely guys. I came here to find answers. In the past month I’ve gone from 77 with 35 not recommended to 49 wirh 64 not recommended. I have lost 27 in one month!!! All non solicited authentic reviews—-some are new and some are old but doesn’t matter. Even ones voted on as “useful” by others are removed. Yelp is absolutely no help —giving me generic answers that “review fluctuation is normal”. This is normal?!?!?! Not when it didn’t happen to me for years. All in November this happened. And it’s not happening to my competitors! Absolute crap and so disappointing.

    Reply
  48. Kyle

    Has anyone found any solutions to this problem? I went from 28 reviews to 13 in the matter of 3 weeks, with no true explanation from Yelp. All I was told was the software was going through some new updates and there was nothing they could do regardless of the fact that I am also paying them for advertising on a monthly basis.

    I hope someone comes up with a solution to this soon.

    Reply
  49. Dan Dorosh

    Same boat as all of you guys. Earthborn Landscape Services- went from 43 legitimate reviews down to 28 in 1 month. Extremely disappointing.

    Reply
  50. Ericson

    Businesses can become the victims. There is zero accountability for someone who posts a review. Imagine if you were accused of having done something wrong and with no need for any evidence, you are found guilty. Not one single work place would allow for employers to stand before the staff and give opinions about individual workers to the rest of the employees. If you want to write a review, make sure you’ve thought critically, that you publish your real name and that there is a consequence for libel if the business can prove that you have damaged their reputation with unfounded accusations.

    Reply
  51. Clayton

    Yes! They absolutely punish you if you fail to advertise or pay for dirty deeds. They will swear they don’t. We don’t get too many bad reviews and most of those are found at Yelp. I get a phone call from them every time we get a sour review the next day or so. Have told them many times that besides them rigging the order thru software they also delete or remove reviews and I guarantee they are not the good ones. Don’t believe a word they say. They stand behind any bad post regardless of it’s content as long as they don’t cuss and they allow posting of reviews by non-customers with no photo, They make ALL biz owners post their own picture however. Not me, I’ll never put my face on their site. Bad people doing a dirty business

    Reply
  52. Ashley Nguyen

    I have the same problem. All reviews are real patients and it keeps on decreasing! Yelp is such a cut throat company. They just want your money. So mad!!!

    Reply
  53. Tony

    In the last 2 months i went from 110 reviews to 81. At one point in the middle of the 2 months i started paying yelp. No contact just me starting a paid add. Well the reviews started to slow down on being filtered. So as a test i stopped my paid add. In a 24 hour period after i stopped paying them i lost 7 reviews in the following 24 hours after stopping my paid add. A friend of mine has 2 adds on yelp one he pays $350 a month for and one he does not pay for. Well in the last 2 months his paid add has only lost 1 review. The add he does not pay for has lost 38 reviews in the same time period. Yelp is a pay to play Company. I called yelp early on when i started to lose my reviews. I was pretty upset and angry. Get this. As im on the phone with yelp being pretty angry at the sales guy. I refreshed my web browser to see i lost another review in the middle of my angry phone call. Yelp is a bullshit Company. At this point i have been on yelp since 2008 and my Company is being hurt from yelps Dishonesty and greed.

    Reply
  54. Santo

    I also have a same problem, among 88 reviews from our 100% real and loyal customers 78 review are currenlty hidden by yelp. Yelp just want is money, if no money no review. So, why don’t we everybody report this thing and go by law?
    We need to raise our voice to shut down the yelp.

    Reply
  55. B. N

    They just took great legitimate reviews away from my small business! I stopped paying for ads right away. I’m beyond pist!

    Reply
  56. J Jarquin

    Funny how almost 35 reviews were removed and i have emails and paper trail of all my clients reviews missing, this doesnt make sense at all .

    Reply
  57. Mike

    I went down from 105 5-star reviews to 80 in 3 weeks ! What’s funny it just happened after I said No about a month ago to increase my advertising with them from $275 to $500 !! Of course I did call them , cursed them out , they keep telling me same stupid answe , it is the software that got updated, actually 2 days ago , I told the person who answered the phone to shove that soft/hardware up his ass . Very frustrated especially when you see some of your competition not affected. My question is , is this legal in this country ?! Isn’t considered blackmailing ?!

    Reply
  58. Jeff

    Same problem. Had 141 5 star reviews for my Chicago Limo company. Was running a $75 per month Yelp business page upgrade.

    After I cancelled the $75 monthly waste, sales person started calling. Many calls later (been blocking all the numbers!!), wouldn’t ya know, my reviews started falling off BIG TIME.

    Now they are only showing 78 reviews and hiding 277 of my 5 star reviews since earned from 2010, claiming it’s the algorithm. I’ve been tracking my competition and the ones who are paying are keeping reviews. Go figure!!

    I am mocking Yelp now in my photos that they allow and posting my google reviews iin my photo section with a link.

    MIDWAYOHARETAXI.com

    My advice, go for Google reviews. Yelp is definetely becoming more irrelevant than ever.

    Google is #1 folks

    Reply
  59. William

    YEP! our company went from (78) legitimate 5 star reviews down to 53 reviews in less than 30 days. all this after repeated phone calls trying to get me to run another ad campaighn which i did not. if YELP does not stop this bullying they are going to go under. Unethical business practice can only sustain for so long. this is too bad because YELP was our go to source for online advertising and we once held them in such high regard. so sad.

    Reply
  60. Dan

    The Slimy Founder of Yelp has had his advert sales people calling me for the past 7 years. They are relentless! I’ve never advertised with them. So now all our legit 5 STAR reviews for Tudor Wines in Paso Robles, California are disappearing. We went from 17 being “recommended” to 3 in a matter of weeks.

    Reply
  61. S

    We were top business in area now we are down 99 5 star reviews out of 200. F yelp

    Reply
  62. Wayne

    I think I got most if not all ya’ll beat. I went from 22 reviews to 5, then to ZERO! None are even hidden now. Its like starting all over. I at least had 5 at the beginning of the year showing with the rest hidden. Even all of my tips are missing!

    Reply
  63. Kate H

    Our company is having similar issues as those who’ve recently posted above: Since we are no longer advertising with Yelp (and we have not returned their marketing team’s calls) our positive reviews have been disappearing. We were averaging 1-2 new reviews weekly since the beginning of Summer, and have been watching them disappear to the “Not Recommended” section after being live for about a week or so.

    Some of our clients did create new Yelp accounts so that they could give us a review, and we figured some of them with only 1 review would fall to the “Not Recommend” section, but there are over 5 other recent positive reviews with accounts with 10+ reviews/friends, and there are also disappearing.

    They claim it’s their algorithm but it is looking more and more like punishing people for no longer advertising with them.

    Reply
  64. Andrei Vologzhanin

    Same here! All of our 15 five stars reviews now are not recommended, they left only one that was 4 star and we have 4 star rating. This is ridiculous. Looks like its their new policy, one of the jerks decided to earn more money from small businesses.
    They keep calling me almost every day now and I had never agreed to use their ads, but was telling them, when we just started, that we are not ready yet. Now, when we grow up a little bit, I still telling them we are not ready to take more customers, so they started to remove our reviews.
    Is there any way to make it public? Let media know? Or simply not use them and use google. No one can guarantee it will not happen with google at some point…

    Reply
  65. Jay

    I open my business 3 years ago and received 223 reviews all 5 stars with paid advertising now I stop advertising with yelp and now half of my reviews slowing got filter now I’m down to 123 and more keep getting filter every day. I have my suspicions that yelp wants us to pay in order to keep our reviews since they got so popular. Well F*** Them I lost more income by losing reviews so I’m deleting my yelp account and sticking with Google Reviews Only!!!! Hope Yelp gets sued!

    Reply
  66. Casey

    Same story. So sad. I just expanded my business and felt secure bc we were way beyond our competitors. Twice as many yelp reviews comparatively. We had 98 legit, heartfelt reviews over a 9 year period. In 2 months, we have dropped to 40 reviews and lost a half of a star. Yelp is truely endangering small businesses. This is aweful.

    Reply
  67. Dr. Majed Nagoulat

    I am a chiropractor in Riverside, Ca and have the same issue with Yelp. We had over 170 5* reviews and are now down to 57. Same story here, Yelp calling continuously to get us to advertise with them.
    After we stopped answering their calls we started losing 10’s of reviews every week.
    Hopefully more and more people will come to realize that this company is a scam.

    Reply
  68. Michael

    Same story as all the recent post. Was spending $200 a month on Yelp ads. But rep called all the time to upgrade for additional services like photo sorting. Always said no. And the next day the photos would shift to the worst one featured. I also only wanted to advertise for a single keyword. Yet yelp would show my ad for distantly related services, just to attempt to get clicks. I track every client how they found us. Google (over 200 5 star reviews) and Instagram 90%. Google and Instagram are free. The rest, are client referrals and Yelp. Funny but Yelp clients or leads were the worst for conversions. Stopped paying the $200 a month in advertising 2 months ago and now have 45 reviews have been moved to not recommended and 46 recommended (all 5 star) remain. The only 1 star review is now the featured review. This is not a client but a professional reviewer, with hundreds of 2 or 3 sentence reviews from all over the country and no business pictures on any of her reviews. Many times this “yelper” post 3 to 5 new reviews a day. I responded to her “issues” and it is effectively not a negative review for us. Many of the not recommend reviews are Yelpers with friends and multiple other reviews. I deleted the regular Yelp app from my phone and told the Yelp rep I will not use Yelp again personally or for my business.

    Reply
  69. Nan Ni Gilbert

    I have 190 review on Yelp and only 56 are showing. 134 reviews are in the hide box. (131 5 star reviews are in the hide box)

    Reply
  70. Yelp Customer (Name withheld)

    I’m a Yelp customer. I pay $1,550 a month since August 2017 advertising on Yelp. In August 2018 I had 100 reviews showing, the rest in the hide box. Today I have 56 reviews showing. 94% of my total reviews are 5 star. I feel Yelp has made a huge change in their software in September 2018. Currently only 29% of my reviews are showing. I am STRONGLY considering reducing my advertising budget with Yelp. Perhaps in January.

    Reply
  71. Kelley

    We don’t use Yelp as a marketing tool, but I wish we could do something about false reviews. We have had a bad experience with them. We were only able to get one review taken off because it had personal information (cell phone number) listed on the review. All our business has is negative reviews showing. We had 5 5-star reviews from current/prior tenants that come up as “not recommended”. The 3 that are showing as 1-star reviews are the only ones that come up. One was not even someone we did business with. The other 2 are not completely truthful reviews.

    Reply
  72. jerry li

    After I rejected purchase their program, half of my good review is gone.

    Reply
  73. Kyle

    I’m in the under the Notary Category in San Francisco and we went from 68 5 star reviews in October to 29 today 12/14/18. This is scary stuff for small business’s. I hope someone buys Yelp and fixes this garbage. The platform has so much potential, but this is just making things worse for themselves.

    The problem with Yelp is their inconsistent ad revenue. They had a huge sip in the markets for their 4th quarter and then as soon as that happened the review for many started dropping into the not recommended area. They’re probably trying to level the playing field, but this is not the way.

    If any one has used both Adwords and Yelp ads, you know how absurd it is trying to use Yelp ads. The preferences, search terms, geography settings and categories are so general. They do this because they think it will create more revenue for them…but they’re wrong. If you gave people the options like Adwords does to customize their ads, I guarantee a lot more people wold be interested in advertising. That’s just my two cents.

    But to do this to companies that work so hard for their good reviews is so sad. I’m very disappointed and hope that this get’s sorted out pronto.

    Reply
  74. LAMS

    SAME STORY… I almost had 100 five-star reviews… down to 44 showing up today. Lost over half to the “not recommended” dark side in the last month or so… slowly but surely, all my ten years of hard work has disappeared. I am beyond frustrated and feel like they are extorting money from us to TRY to save ourselves from losing all our 5-star reviews. I notice that my biggest competitor, a paid advertiser, has lost a few stars but is still at 35 or so… I had three times more than him and now I’m not significantly higher. Do you think paying their extortion of $450/month will stem the bleeding??? I hate this!

    Reply
  75. Gerald

    Im suffering as well. I went from nearly 40 reviews down to 13. God aweful. Ive stopped caring about reviews. All are legitimate and even with ads ive been cut. I thought I was being punished for stopping ads, and still think so. How can I compete with the others that have 60+ reviews and I have 13 now, even with ads Im less desirable visually.

    Reply
  76. Aldo

    They called me many times to increase the budget I paid from $300 to $2000 when I saw that it did not work and decided to go back to my $300 budget. they did not answer the phone and I ended up paying another month of $1239 now of 119 5star reviews it went down to only 90 4start review. they only took out the 5-star ones.

    Reply
  77. Dan

    Yelp removed multiple legitimate positive reviews from genuine customers that wrote honest, informative content regarding my company and the services that they received. Not surprising that this ‘filtering’ began when I declined to continue paying for advertising and actually had my bank reverse charges that Yelp had illegitimately placed on my CC. The bank representative acknowledged that the complaints against Yelp were constantly coming in with the same stories of deceit and unethical practices. After the bank sided with me and reversed the charges, Yelp started to remove long standing reviews one by one without any valid reason. Yelp is totally shady and has absolutely no honor or integrity.

    Reply
  78. Nate

    Screw yelp. Went from 15 5-star reviews down to 1 over the course of a month. AND I pay them $300 a month in advertising. Not anymore. I haven’t soliciated a single review, encourage yelp check-ins, and follow all of the other bullshit rules they ask you to follow. I won’t play their games anymore.

    Reply
  79. Shawn

    I too have experienced the same extortion from yelp. I’ve got a small business which built up over 60 5 star reviews from real clients and was being constantly asked to pay for advertising on yelp.i have three one star reviews from people we never worked with that they will never remove. Yelp has removed over 2/3s of my 5 star reviews in the last couple of months. I have written a negative review for a company that advertises on yelp and it gets filtered out even though I meet all the requirements of a real reliable customer and review. When People will learn how yelp plays their credibility will suffer but until then we all suffer.

    Reply
  80. Dante

    The will delete slow slow any reviews until you start to pay to ads your business!!
    This is their trick!!
    I lost almost 20 reviews from “ELITE ‘18” reviewers in 3 months, it is shame!!
    This is the WORST ever!!

    Reply
  81. Mitin

    My business is one year old. All my reviews are genuine. They started hiding 7 out of 25 reviews back in October. I called them and stopped the ad campaign with them. One month later I only have 2 reviews and they hid 25 of 5 star reviews. Luckily my business is not affected but Yelp is an extortion scheme. I totally believe in Karma. They are going to pay in long term. All the small business owners should get together and get this in the media. We should not let yelp bully us like that. Let your local congressman or senator know about this.

    Reply
  82. Jim Jamil

    Hi,
    Same here in just from November 15, 2018 till today December 16, 2018 my 600 five stars reviews down to 298. I have 465 filtered 5 star reviews. I canceled all paid call to action buttons. I was paying $75 per month for last 5 years. Bye bye Yelp. Is this the way you help honest small business.

    Reply
  83. Jen

    I’m a new small business owner and have relied heavily on the (few) Yelp reviews I had and I was really pleased that I put my business on there. Then, after being overbooked in Oct 2018, the calls really slowed down and I chalked it up to the holidays but today I finally decided to look into what was going on because now the calls have totally stopped. I checked my Yelp for business app thinking perhaps someone left a bad review and I just didn’t get or missed the review notification from Yelp. That’s when I saw Yelp suddenly decided three of the four reviews were not recommended; I’m a very small and specialized business so I was actually happy I had the four. These reviews have been there for months and all of sudden they’re gone? I called the only number I could find and the girl told me I needed to “educate myself”. I am exceptionally calm when it comes to getting poor customer service but this took me from annoyed to furious in an instant. I hung up because I knew I was about to turn into a monster. Anyway, after talking with my business partners we decided I should just remove the business from Yelp altogether and I assumed that since I was the one who put it up on Yep, I could just delete it too. And that’s how I ended up here, still furious and unable to delete my own business. Yelp is heartless. Also of note, after getting frustrated with all of the calls from Yelp sales, I just started ignoring them. Thanks for letting me vent. I’m still furious, though, and am fixin’ to hit the eggnog HARD tonight.

    Reply
  84. Javier

    Thanks for the article but its not very helpful. In the last 3 and a half months yelp has hidden a total of 16 five star reviews from my pet sitting company. Everybody is or was (if they moved out of our service area) a loyal customer. Yelp shouldn’t have the power to recommend or not reviews based on the stupid user activity in yelp that nobody has time for by connecting their social media and completing their profiles. I have a personal yelp accoubt and I don’t even have all of that done and will NEVER have it, because I refuse to facilitate yelp or any other institution everything about my life and people should have that option to choose without being penalized. Their reviews should have the same value as any other reviewers, even if the hidden reviews are bad ones (we have a bad one hidden and we’d like it to be showing because it shows the growth, change and evolution we’ve gone through)

    Reply
  85. Anthony

    My restaurant started with 90 reviews with a five star rating and in the matter of weeks had dropped to 14! Every single day that I check it goes down! And these are reviews I’ve gotten over the course of a year. And of course the 4 non five star reviews remain untouched. I called and wrote multiple times and each time they respond with the same response. “There is nothing wrong, The system does this to everyone and there is not a single person at the company that can change it”. So furious with Yelp! How is it they can bully us small business!? Our livelihood depends on those reviews!

    Reply
  86. alex k

    we are a small business and in the past 60 days Yelp has removed 50 of our 5 star reviews. 50! that’s 30% of our total reviews. when we contacted yelp they gave us a generic answer that they have no control over algorithm. that’s like us saying we have no control over our employees! these reviews is our hard work and dedication not to mention the valuable time our customers spent writing these reviews. I really hope someone Sues yelp. this is BS! I promise never to ask for another review on Yelp! google is the only reviews we will now persue!

    Reply
  87. George Morariu

    Two months ago I had 33 5 star reviews… I now have 16… they keep falling off every day… and there were reviews/comments made 1+ years ago… what the heck is going on! Is this some form of extortion? If I pay to advertise will I get them to display again?

    Reply
  88. Zack A.

    My business had over three hundred twenty five 5 star reviews and today 12/18/2018, it is down to 140, they have done this in the past, but not to this scale. I have received an email from yelp marketing about considering getting one of their higher end package deals. Yes, $$$$$ another scam strategies by corp. companies, who become a leader in the industry. I now ask my clients to leave their feed backs on google review, if they have google account. No hassle, no pain. I was subscribing to yelp and paying them $300.00 monthly to not have competitor ads on my page, and today I will unsubscribe.

    Reply
  89. Alex K

    We are a small business. Yelp has removed 30% of our reviews in the last few weeks. Reviews that took us years to get. This is complete BS! When we called them Yelp said its the new algorithm and we cant do anything about it, as if this algorithm is not written by Yelp engineers. Come on! I hope someone decides to sue Yelp and contacts all of us to join in on this law suit against Yelp for not only deleting years of our hard work but deleting legitamite reviews of people who took the time to write them!

    Reply
  90. Chad Hyatt

    After a couple years of harassing calls from yelp sales department I asked to be put on the no call list. Then almost immediately my reviews disappeared. I knew it was because of the no call list request. Then after this a long term customer with other yelp reviews posted a review on yelp for my business and it took one week to be deleted. Yelp is disgusting and should be closed down!!!!!

    Reply
  91. A Pissed Off Customer

    In October I had 106 recommended 5 star reviews. Now I’m down to 69. 90 reviews in the filtered section. I pay $2150 a month in add clicks. I have been with Yelp for 4 years. I would have to say it’s time to make a change. I can no longer do business with a company who hurts my bottom line. And that’s what they are doing hurting my bottom line.

    Reply
  92. Greg

    Opened a new location of our business in Nevada. Decided to advertise in yelp from the day of opening. Our company is pretty well known in California, we have couple hundred thousand followers on IG. But we still decided not to shortcut on ads and get the things move faster. Well , what a mistake! First of all people knew about our opening and our business started better then expected. So great, we’ve got quite a few reviews from our happy customers, as a support and sign of satisfaction. By the way none of the reviews was aked for or fake. Than a month after reviews started disappearing . In the second month basically we’ve had reviews coming and going pretty much daily. Well , we’re not new to yelp or business and honestly never had seen anything like that happened before. We take a pride at what we do and appreciate good feedback. In third month, as of right now , we have 1 review( lol) and 30+ non recommend. Business is going normal for brand new location.Are we frustrated, no but we’ve waisted lot of money already. We can track how our leads coming and they gave us NOTHING!!!! I talked to sale rep multiple times and heard same BS that probably all of you did! Problem number one for us , we feel bed that those customers spent thier valuable time and wrote staff and uploaded pictures! Problem number two yelp thinks they a shepherd and all small businesses who care about their reputation are sheeps( big corporations can give a damn about yelp and their ratings!). They can milk us and use us the way they want to. So there is no difference you advertise with them or don’t , they are finding ways to pull your hair. Our other locations didn’t get affected, maybe yet! The real thing that upsets me besides totally waisted money on their 9$ per click ad and customers waisted time( matter fact now we tell our customer don’t bother writing anything on yelp not because we worry about bad one but we don’t want them to waist their time anyway their options don’t matter!!!) is the stress that we had, all stupid research about crocks that we had to do. Keep in mind they are profit based organization. We are most vulnerable ones , small business hard working family or non family business. Wish all of you the best in your businesses, move one and close the book on the, they’re not worth your time and effort. Keep your businesses straight and don’t worry about one or five star silly ratings ( even they make money) Hope anyone with this issue can read this!

    Reply
  93. Greg

    Opened a new location of our business in Nevada. Decided to advertise in yelp from the day of opening. Our company is pretty well known in California, we have couple hundred thousand followers on IG. But we still decided not to shortcut on ads and get the things move faster. Well , what a mistake! First of all people knew about our opening and our business started better then expected. So great, we’ve got quite a few reviews from our happy customers, as a support and sign of satisfaction. By the way none of the reviews was aked for or fake. Than a month after reviews started disappearing . In the second month basically we’ve had reviews coming and going pretty much daily. Well , we’re not new to yelp or business and honestly never had seen anything like that happened before. We take a pride at what we do and appreciate good feedback. In third month, as of right now , we have 1 review( lol) and 30+ non recommend. Business is going normal for brand new location.Are we frustrated, no but we’ve waisted lot of money already. We can track how our leads coming and they gave us NOTHING!!!! I talked to sale rep multiple times and heard same BS that probably all of you did! Problem number one for us , we feel bed that those customers spent thier valuable time and wrote staff and uploaded pictures! Problem number two yelp thinks they a shepherd and all small businesses who care about their reputation are sheeps( big corporations can give a damn about yelp and their ratings!). They can milk us and use us the way they want to. So there is no difference you ad

    Reply
  94. Marian

    Shady, shady, shady. And shame on Yelp! They are ruining their reputation at Mach 1 speed the last months of 2018. Their stock has tanked, and they are in trouble financially. They are using desperate means in which to get businesses to advertise with them. And that is to deal with clients by psychologically messing with their hard-earned reviews.

    On November 1, 2018, last month, we had 149 reviews. We have had anywhere from 138 to 151 reviews consistently throughout 2018.

    I canceled advertising with them two months ago, and ever since November 1, 2018, I have dropped a review or two per day. Today is December 19, 2018, and we are down to 66 reviews. At this rate, in two months, or less, I will have zero reviews.

    I have worked hard to make a good name for myself, the Canyon Crest Vape Shoppe in Riverside, California, since 2015. Yelp has shady business practices. Just because they are in financial trouble, they should not manipulate the rating system in order to gain advertising clients.

    My advice to everyone, including to myself, is to start telling your customers about the Google review system. That does not seem to revolve around financial gain. Yelp is very crooked for doing this to me and to all of you. Google can take over if we all make the switch!!!

    Reply
  95. Marian

    Migs, I just wrote a lengthy comment and added my email address and name, as requested, and I do not see my comment. Do you see it anywhere on your end? Or do I need to rewrite it? It involves my experience with Yelp’s crooked and manipulative practices since November 1, 2018. I started off on that date with 149 reviews. This month, today, December 19, 2018, I have now only 66 reviews left. My closest competitor’s’ reviews have remained untouched.

    Reply
  96. Papa Georgio

    Yelp is complete crap, we have pictures of every customer that buys a car from us, every single review we EVER had was completely organic, and we went from 90 reviews to 35, from 5 star to 4.5 star. At our second location, we went from 21 reviews, all organic 5 star reviews that were UNSOLICITED, to NO REVIEWS, HAHAHAHAHA. Good bye yelp, you’re done and the peons that you have working for you who are paid minimum wage and aren’t told the truth about your corrupt business will be paid elsewhere by a respectable company. The owner of yelp is going to be receiving a massive dose of karma and he will be welping for the rest of his life.

    Reply
  97. Georgio

    Yelp is completely awesome. We have pictures of every customer that buys a car from us, every single review we EVER had was completely organic, and we went from 90 reviews to 35, from 5 star to 4.5 star. At our second location, we went from 21 reviews — all organic 5 star reviews that were UNSOLICITED — to NO REVIEWS, HAHAHAHAHA. Good bye yelp, you’re done and the peons that you have working for you who are paid minimum wage and aren’t told the truth about your corrupt business will be paid elsewhere by a respectable company. The owner of yelp is going to be receiving a massive dose of karma and he will be welping for the rest of his life. Good luck.

    Reply
  98. Caroline

    Yelp filtered out more than 75% of my reviews. I have almost 100 reviews and they only show 23 reviews. I have run my own business by myself locally for 13 years. Yelp preys on hard working people like me who have poured their entire lives into their businesses. Thank God I don’t have a family depending on me or mouths to feed. I’m the only one who will starve because of Yelp.

    Reply
  99. Serbie

    What they told me is pretty much that i should pay for advertising few times , after they get some money from me reviews will not be deleted. Pretty F—– shady.

    Reply
  100. Alex

    We had 99% 5 star reviews. I guess Yelp felt our commitment to great customer service is a bad thing and removed 55 of our 5 star reviews. We are now showing 125 from 180 we had in September. We will not be advertising with yelp any more and we will not be promoting our customers to leave reviews on Yelp. We will ask for reviews on Google until there is a fare and balanced platform that doesnt change its policies to influence stocks.

    Reply
  101. nicole

    Same with me.. I had 50 reviews showing.. now down to 15! all of a sudden! Clearly after reading all of this, Yelp did something very recently. I’m hoping they revert back after all of these comments

    Reply
  102. Amanda

    It’s not just that our Yelp’s reviews have disappeared. But that is not all. What happened next was that ALL the flow of incoming business stopped. Whereas I used to receive multiple quote requests per day, I started to get none at all. May be one a week…. Again, I wish that was all. But no… There was something wrong with the quality of the leads:
    1. They were all from people with no Yelp accounts, who had signed on as Guest, with 0 FRIENDS, AND 0 REVIEWS.
    2. Every time I clicked on the name of each of these mysterious leads, I would get a 404 page.
    3. As a result, I would decline each and every one of those leads, because they all seem FAKE to me.
    4. Next, I contacted Yelp and sent them snapshots of all the fake quote requests and asked them about what happened to the flow of business I was receiving. They did not answer me, even though I am a Yelp advertiser, and I sent them 17 snapshots of 17 FAKE quote requests. NO ANSWER from Yelp.

    So now, not only the reviews have disappeared, no more business is coming in either.

    Thanks a lot, Yelp!

    Reply
  103. Rachel Rasmussen

    I recently learned something about Yelp, when a representative called me trying to do business..
    first off, I use to leave reviews myself, but I stopped using yelp after discovering how they run this site.
    My business currently has 12 reviews. Giving me a 3 star rating. But get this, if you scroll to the bottom of your page, you will see the “not recommended reviews” these reviews yelp used an “automated system to decide if they wanted to keep any review as an actual review. I have 20 five star reviews under this “not recommended” list. Twenty!! Can you imagine where my star rating would be if it was showing ALL the reviews?! But instead, my business has to suffer because of this automated system their site uses, where even their own employees are not able to changed the status/location of a review.
    Now, though all of the reasons above are legit, the number one reason my reviews were pulled, is not listed in the above article. When I talked to a spokesperson from Yelp, she told me something I found very disturbing; If someone leaves a review within your establishment, they consider it fake and pull it. Does this seem nuts to you?! I personally take photos of the food I eat, and express how great even the display of it is! I have never left a review after leaving but only reviewed while my feelings were strong, and my opinion was current and dead on!
    Ironically, Google mailed me door clings saying “did you remember to leave a review?”
    Apparently Yelp doesn’t understand the quality of a review written at the table of the establishment getting it.
    I no long use Yelp. For obvious reasons.

    Reply
  104. Ronnie

    Our electrical service company has over 100 legitimate reviews on Yelp and they (yelp) do “not recommend” 65 OF THEM, so we only have 35, and like other comments, they constantly call the office wanting my money. I will not do business with a company that uses such bullying tactics!!

    Reply
  105. Jay Jamil

    Yelp craters as much as 32% as advertisers abandon the site

    *The company added zero net new advertising customers during the quarter.

    *In light of lower-than-expected net adds and corresponding advertising revenue, Yelp slashed its full-year revenue guidance.

    *Friday’s plunge sends Yelp to a 52-week low and makes for the stock’s worst day of trading since going public in 2012.

    Reply
  106. Marianne

    Yelp removed multiple legitimate positive reviews from genuine customers that wrote honest, informative content regarding my company and the services that they received. Not surprising that this ‘filtering’ began when I declined to pay them for advertising. Yelp started to remove long standing reviews one by one without any valid reason. When I called them, they were aggressive and unprofessional. They wouldn’t even allow you to remove your business from their page, as if they’re trying to strangle you. I’ll never use Yelp again!

    Reply
  107. Amanda Flores

    I started receiving calls from a very aggressive female from yelp. I total her we didn’t want to advertise with yelp. She kept demanding we advertise, so I let her go to voicemail instead of taking her calls.

    I just checked our business page 20 of our 5 star reviews are now in the not recommended area.

    I do recall in our last exchange she said, “Oh, I am sure I will her from you soon.”

    Moving forward we will work to funnel all who wish to leave a review to Google, Yelp will never get another advertising dollar out of our organization.

    Reply
  108. Victor

    The best part of the article is this:

    The review could be filtered if:
    – The reviewer has only positive reviews
    Really?
    My business on Ebay has hundreds of reviews and they are 100% positive.

    YELP is a huge misunderstanding that HURTS businesses.

    Reply
  109. Ryan adams

    The only comfort this thread has for me is that I’m not alone. Out of 63 reviews 45 have moved in the past month or so to unrecommended. Other similar businesses like mine haven’t suffered as much. I have never advertised with yelp and they used to call a lot. They don’t call as much anymore. Maybe that’s why I’m losing them? I don’t know. I dread looking at my business profile every day. So defeating. I’ve called three times. The last time I called the business yelp representative hung up on me. Just so defeating for a small business.

    Reply
  110. Alain RBibo

    In my Opinion, yelp has the biggest scam running in the 21st-century. When I refused to pay for any more advertising my reviews started to disappear. I’ve had 4.5 star Rating for many years with about 40 Five star reviews And 2 one star reviews. I am currently down to 10 five star reviews and every other day more are coming off. I contacted channel 2 news ‘2 on your side’ They came out to interview me because they’ve had a lot of people call in and complain about the same thing. The episode will run in the first two weeks of January 2019 keep an eye out for it on channel 2 news at 6 PM. I contacted the Better Business Bureau as well they seem to have over 1400 complaints about yelp and say that the app is not accredited and has an F -rating. If Anyone has Verifiable suggestions as to what to do to get reviews back please share.

    Reply
  111. Fredy

    BOYCOTT YELP!!! If we all get together and contact one of the influential media outlets to report this extortion tactics being pulled by Yelp, we may have a chance to get our justice. Our small business its in the same boat as everyone else situation described on here. I’ve been in business over 5 years and it took us this long to slowly but surely built our 5 star review list following Yelp’s recommendations to the letter. I had over 50 5 star reviews and now we are down to 15, sparking a dramatic decrease in business. This happened within the last two months. This is not a coincidence folks and unless we speak up, Yelp’s abuse and extortion will continue driving a lot of us out of business. RISE AND REBEL! JUSTICE MOST BE DONE!

    Reply
  112. Audra

    I’m sorry to hear it’s not just me. I recently moved my business cross country. I only have 19 reviews and they are all hidden! I feel the effects on my small business and feel so frustrated by the copy and paste response I get from customer service reps. I initially paid for ads, but noticed my reviews disappering and pulled them. The pace afterwords increased 10x until there were no reccommend reviews. Thank goodness for Google!

    Reply
  113. Ford

    Theye should shutdown this app…the are killing small business…we are work ing on it asking help from our congressman .

    Reply
  114. Lisa

    same issue here I stopped advertising with Yelp in End of Nov 2018.
    Today they removed ALL of my good reviews and ONLY kept 2 bad reviews.
    We were a 4.5 Star company for over 2 years now in 1 day we have 2 bad reviews 1 star.
    One of these reviews is fake…
    There is no one you can talk with.
    It is obvious that as long as you pay you can maintain the good reviews

    Reply
  115. AFFOR (Anonymous for fear of retaliation)

    I have been advertising with Yelp for years. At one point, they got me to increase my ad budget from $350 to around $1600, saying that they only have a “few spots” left for my particular field that they could sell that program to. I figured it was just sales BS, but I tried it out for about a year. After not seeing any noticeable increase in calls, and becoming frustrated with my frequent complaints to my “Yelp Rep”, ( a different one every couple of months), of my 5* reviews disappearing to the “not recommended” section, I dropped my budget down again. Things would usually stay relatively status quo for a few months to a year, and then I would get a call usually from someone telling me they are my “new” rep, and were calling to “see how things were going”, or if I was “satisfied” with my Yelp program. I would say that I was fine, as long as they keep burying my reviews. Like everyone else, I heard the whole “its out of my hands” and “its the algorithm software”, etc., And of course they would want me to purchase more advertising. I would explain that if they can’t keep my reviews from disappearing, what good would it be to spend more money with them? And how good could their software possibly be, if I know that absolutely every single review is legit, but 90% of them are disappearing? Or how come for years a review is fine, and then it is not fine, and then it is fine again? It makes no sense to me. However, in the last couple of months, we went from having 21 5* reviews showing, and 11 or so “not recommended”, to 6 five stars showing, to now only 2. The newest Yelp rep told me there was nothing that could be done about it, other than to contact Yelp “customer care” dept, or some such uselessness. Until some insider from Yelp comes out about any type of devious inner workings of Yelp, should that be the case, to a legit reporter or to a class action law firm, it will never end. Ironically, there is no way to rate Yelp on Yelp. Can you imagine the negative reviews? Thank whoever is responsible for this forum for allowing frustrated yelp reviews to express their opinions and experiences.

    Reply
  116. MP

    It’s strange that everyone has the same opinion of yelp. I am talking about business owners. I have gotten nothing but 5 stars with great reviews from my customers but Yelp decides to hide some of them. Nothing “not” compliant with their software rules. Yup, even called them to ask why, they just answer that their software isn’t perfect. Garbage. They just want you to throw money their way in order to keep your reviews. HEY YELP! YOU GUYS READING ALL YOUR NEGATIVE COMMENTS. YOU GUYS SUCK!

    Reply
  117. Ken B.

    I had 105 (5) star reviews removed in less then 2 months and we dropped from 203 (5) star reviews down to 97. We have never solicited reviews at anytime. I have about 3000 reviews on the internet and they’re all 5 star rated except for 2 (4) star reviews on Yelp. The reason why my reviews are so good is because I do everything from answering the calls to meeting with all the customers personally. If there’s ever a complaint I always politely resolve it in the most professional manner not lose their respect. Also I was a roofing mechanic for 40 years and I’ve been in business for 45 years and I’m a perfectionist at my trade.

    From the research I’ve done on the Yelp algorithm that started Nov 1, 2018 it seems like the companies most effected negatively are the companies that have many 5 star reviews. I’m also wondering if it could be because my name Ken is mentioned in almost all the 3000 reviews. The reason why name is mentioned in the reviews is because I’m the only one they communicated with from the first time they called until the job was completed and paid for.

    Since the problem started I have literally called yelp about 45 times and sent at least 40 email because of my frustration. Words could never express how devastated and betrayed I feel after having so many reviews removed for absolutely no reason!

    Reply
  118. Victor

    Same here from 59 reviews, down to 31. Need a class action lawsuit..

    Reply
  119. Eric Albert

    I’m curious. My friends opinions of a service were removed. I did not write them and they should have the right to their options. It’s non constitutional to delete an opinion from another person.

    Reply
  120. Chriss Bristow

    Our 6 year old company went from 20 reviews down to 1 since November. None were solicited all were valid and had been there for years. The only one left visable is a 3 star review that although was complimentary was still just a 3 star. This leads me to believe that they removed all of the 5 stars.

    We had been a paid advertiser for the last two years, which I really do not think helped at all. Our acitivity per their chart has gone down 29% since we started advertising. I just cancelled our paid advertising that was costing us $1000 PER MONTH. Why on earth would I advertise what now “appears” to be a 3 star business.

    Reply
  121. AFFOR

    To make matters worse, over the course of 4 days last week, I received 3 emails claiming to be from Yelp, saying they were “test” messages to see if I replied. It appeared suspicious to me since I have never seen one like it before, and the grammar and capitalization seemed suspect. So rather than clicking on the link to respond, I instead “replied” directly to the email asking for confirmation that it was a legit email request from Yelp. I never received a response. So I figured that proved it was fake or some sort of phishing scam. Well, today I was checking to see how many more reviews Yelp has buried of mine, and I was floored to see that on my listing, it said “Average response Time – 3 Days”. I was outraged as I ALWAYS immediately respond to each query. My average response time was previously listed as between 15-20 minutes. So I called customer service today and spoke with this person named “Mercedes”. When I told her about the problem, she said that the emails “probably didn’t come from Yelp”, and that they would not have affected my response time rating. So I asked her how then did my response time go from 20 minutes to 3 days virtually overnight? She struggled to explain to the point she actually changed what she said earlier to me about the emails I had received. When I pointed out that she just told me the complete opposite, she denied it and threatened to hang up on me. So I ended the call. What is going on with this company lately after all of these years is inexplicable and inexcusable. I am going to put my advertising money elsewhere. Did anyone else get those “test” emails?

    Reply
  122. Jim

    We went from 220 total reviews only showing 135 to now only 50 showing up after the November update. All reviews are 100% legit. We used to spend 30k annually on Yelp advertising, just called them up and cancelled all of it. Everyone needs to stop paying for advertising, it is the only way they will listen.

    Reply
  123. Ken Briesemeister

    Dear AFFOR (Anonymous for fear of retaliation)

    Most everyone here is posting there real names because we all want Yelp to know who we are because what they did is insane!! We all have pride and principles and the last thing we’re going to do is hide behind a bogus name! I have much more to lose then you and I want Yelp to know exactly who I am and that they’re fu..ed up!!

    Reply
  124. Ashley

    Mine is just about as bad as it gets. I had 37 valid five star reviews about 6 months ago (three hard earned years of being a realtor) and was already upset that 15 more were in the not recommended bucket. Now I just looked today and I have TWO REVIEWS under my name and 61 in the not recommended bucket. I can’t believe it. And I’ve been advertising this whole time, so that doesn’t seem to make a difference. Well I’ll be cancelling all advertising today. Their business model is backwards, whatever they are doing is going to make almost everybody cancel. It makes no sense.

    Reply
  125. Ryan

    We had over 30 nice reviews on Yelp, all organic, putting us at the top of our category for our area. They have been harassing us for years to pay and we finally told them to stop – we will not pay for reviews. Coincidentally last month, 26 reviews and counting (from documented customers and with business owner responses) that have been there for years are now hidden leaving 8. Surprise – the paid advertisers now have more reviews than us so they show first. Yelp – your algorithm really thinks that 80% of online reviews are fake? Yeah right! Yelp is nothing but an extortion racket.

    Reply
  126. E.M.

    What a shame that YELP is becoming the norm “scammy” internet advertising site that seems to take hold when their customers downgrade or remove the monetary part of the equation. My gf started using Yelp a few months back for her real estate business and each month would add more funds to gain benefits. As her clients started leaving reviews, she noticed some would disappear. She didn’t become too concerned until they ALL disappeared. Funny thing is, is that she downgraded from $500 a month to $150.00 a month and not only did the reviews disappear, so did their politeness and courtesy. When she was upgrading monthly they were so “kissing her arss”, when she downgraded, they were rude and one rep even told her she could call back and complain about the reviews to someone else and hung up on my gf. What type of people do you have employed for you, Yelp? I would be horrified if any of my employees treated my clients this way!!! I know you know your employees actions because you record all calls. I will be spreading the word to my colleagues, friends and family to opt out of Yelp!

    Reply
  127. Christina

    Yelp filtered all of our reviews before we started paying them monthly fee for removing the competition ads and adding the slideshow features. Eventually we gave in and began to pay them, then most of the filtered reviews came back. Then they were trying to get us pay them for PPC, we refused cause their dada is mysterious and very pricy compared to Google AD. Now we lost most of our 5 star reviews and still falling everyday. Yelp is definitely a scammer and it destroyed small businesses, we need to stop using them!

    Reply
  128. Aaron Crookston

    I started a Junk Removal business in Grass Valley 6 months ago. I created a Yelp business page and shortly afterwards was contacted to buy an ad on Yelp. I tried it for a couple weeks and didn’t see an increase in business to justify $350-400 a month for the ad, so I cancelled it.

    I had gotten 23 5 star reviews in the first 3-4 months of doing business. Oddly some of the reviews went into Not Recommended file, some even flip flopped from Recommended to Not Recommended and back again???? Weird!!

    Now the thing that really irks me is that now ALL of my once Recommended Reviews are in Not Recommended File!!! Except One. WTH!! I had 15 reviews fall off to 8 then 3 and now 1. I do GREAT BUSINESS, TREAT PEOPLE ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, FOLLOW THROUGH AND ONLY HAVE 1 REVIEW!!! YELP OBVIOUSLY IS TRYING TO MAKE OR SAVE MONEY BY THIS REVIEW SITUATION. I’m just going to continue to do GREAT BUSINESS and let Karma sort it out.

    Reply
  129. Bobby Negraia

    I am a small business owner and recently Yelp removed ALL my good reviews from REAL clients and left ONLY THREE ONE-STAR reviews. Nothing, nothing else.
    So… potential client opens a browser and searches my company’s name, they find the google reviews, but next result is yelp’s saying “one star rated”. Recent clients told me they saw that result, DIDN’T EVEN BOTHER to read the reviews or to call me, they simply WENT SOMEWHERE ELSE. Later, when they realized how good was my product, they decided to stop by and to their surprise, received 5-star service. It took me years of hard work and sacrifices to build an honest business and it was painful to hear the truth from my clients.
    I am currently contemplating changing the name of the company, as it started to visibly affect my sales.
    I repeat, it breaks my heart, but thanks to Yelp, I am facing the biggest challenge ever 🙁

    Reply
  130. Horten

    I had 100 reviews and I was called to renew my advertising with then I said I was not going to renew with them I did not have the money to do it.I was pay $350/ month.They want I renew and pay $1000 per month reviews 85 or are have been filtered out. When we asked why they told us it’s there algorithm that dose and they do not know how it works and are not told. Yelp just want money. No money no review. Why everybody report this thing and go by law? We need to raise our voice to shut down the Yelp. it get very hard to countue to trust Yelp.

    Reply
  131. Hannah Mobeck

    Like all the other users here, over half of my reviews, built up over the last 6 years were moved to the not-reccommended area – from about 30 to 11 now, all from Nov 18 until now. I looked at three other companies in the same industry that were advertising and they had between 10-20% reviews in the not-reccommended area vs. mine, which had over 50%. The ratios were completley out of proprotion for advertising vs. non-advertising companies in the same industry. Yelp has to find a way to make money and now they lost all there integrity and have sold out after there stock dropped by 30%.

    Reply
  132. Alex Mas

    The same here. The new business. For the first month we had received 12 only five-star reviews from our real customers, and we have even never asked our customers for reviewing us on Yelp or had a Yelp sticker on the door. Then Yelp removes all but 1 five-star review out of these 12! Then last week we receive our first bad 2-star review and Yelp immediately removes the last 5-star review and leaves only this new 2-star review with the average rating 2 stars while we have 12 hidden five-star reviews filtered out with no reason. And yes, before these filtering started, their rep called us offering advertising and we refused… Yelp is a scam, no doubt.

    Reply
  133. Pamela S Nugent

    We too lost half of our reviews and got the same rehearsed response from our account rep….who happens to be a very likable guy but OMG…I am beyond frustrated. We are the small fish working in a big pond and our 5-star reviews where helping. I really want to throw a little resistance back to Yelp…and say you can’t get away with this…at least be honest about it. I really don’t know if they are purposely aiming at potential clients (we have the most basic package of advertising…they want us to upgrade and we would pay 5 times more per month with promises of increased visibility) we denied the offer. Or, it was an IT mistake when they upgraded their Algorithm program. I don’t know what to believe…but am on the same page as most of you! Feeling done… and over it! Tired of Yelp having all the power…or the buyers having all the power! Hopefully, someone will come up with a plan to make Yelp feel the pain that the rest of us are feeling..

    Reply
  134. Ima

    From a report on CBS Local:

    Bob Sinnott owns Toasted Coffee + Kitchen in Lower Greenville. He said after months of non-stop phone calls from Yelp, he claims his favorable rating dropped after he finally told the company he would not pay for advertising. “What I would compare it to, the mafia,” said Sinnott. “You know, you do business with me or there’s retaliation.” Sinnott feels Yelp is hiding many of his 5-star reviews in the “not recommended” section because he chose not to pay for Yelp services. “The sales pitch is, pay us a monthly fee and we’ll your help page,” said Sinnott. He claims there were constant phone calls and emails from Yelp pitching the company’s services. “It became what I would call borderline harassment,” said Sinnott. After posting on Facebook about his experience, Sinnott said his rating went from a 4-star to a 3.5-star rating.

    Reply
  135. Eric Koontz

    Removed ALL my reviews. No violation of policies, no hate speech, no pictures of people. I was never notified by these jokers. Yelp, deleted app.

    Reply
  136. Ashley

    I’m not a business owner just a customer but I refuse to waste my time leaving reviews on Yelp anymore. I personally find it offensive that I take time to write a review only to have it thrown in the not recommended section. Why is my experience and opinion less valid then someone else’s? I contacted Yelp about this and was told it’s not them it’s the software. Never again will I use Yelp!

    Reply
  137. Mark Deniz

    I was an avid Yelper. My business grew using Yelp. I was lucky to receive good reviews for five years. I got up 82 reviews showing. I have been advertising with Yelp since 2016, increasing my campaign little by little. All was growing and going well. In July 2018, my reviews were decreasing. As of January 2019, I have under 10 reviews showing. I have hundred and thirty that are in there. I got the generic “it is all the algorithim” spiel. It is very frustrating because my competitors have remained the same. Every one of my reviews were hard earned from clients. It is very unfortunate that this happened because I really liked Yelp. I feel sabotaged. I quit my campaign and went to the minimum. I am at a loss of what to do.

    Reply
  138. G Iasillo

    Same luck here. I was paying ads for almost 400 a month and i had 8 5 stars. All of the sudden we have only 3. Same thing to all of us.

    Reply
  139. Edward Johnston

    Maybe everyone effected should post a bad review on GOOGLE about how bad yelp is in their reviewing real reviews and not showing them. Its very unfair that they are removing real and valid reviews, yet keeping bad ones most times if the person reviews other businesses on yelp often that is not a valid enough to keep those kinds of posts only.

    Reply
  140. Ken B

    Yelp is screwing companies nationwide that have too many five star reviews!!!!!!

    November 1, 2018 my company had 196 (5) star reviews, on Christmas Eve we were down to 97 reviews with 227 filtered! Also, I pay $1050 per month this garbage!!

    What yelp is going to do next to screw its customers, guaranteed!!!

    Instead of just 2 – 3 sponsored ads on each page I guarantee you because of their greed they’re going to change it to 8-9 sponsored links for each page that will burry companies in 1-10 position!!!!

    Reply
  141. Ken B.

    I actually saw this yesterday where there were 9 sponsored companies above all the companies that are ranked on yelp, when I checked from another computer it showed 2-3 sponsored companies. Yelp is most likely experimenting again with their new algorithm to see how it can benefit them and them only!!!

    Reply
  142. eli

    After reading almost all the reviews here, I think that the yelp algorithm doesn’t work as it should. There is something that triggers the algorithm for some businesses to act more radically. My business had a total of 65 reviews and yelp filtered 62 of them, and only show 3 reviews, 2 negative and 1 positive. I fell from 5 stars to 2.5 stars.

    https://www.yelp.com/biz/extra-locksmith-fort-worth-4?osq=locksmith

    Reply
  143. Fabrizio

    I have 30 5 stars reviews on Yelp, and I had originally signed up for an enhanced site on Yelp that was then grandfathered into their pay per click program.
    After some time Yelp approached me to increase my level of advertisement on their site and I refused. It is then that I started to notice that my new reviews were never recommended by Yelp. I didn’t think much of it because I did not have a program to generates reviews in my business and I assumed that I could not understand the algorithm.
    After several more solicitations from Yelp and more unpublished reviews, I decided to cancel my paid contract with Yelp altogether despite their offer to upgrade for free.
    Here what happened from that day: my published reviews went from 17 to 10 in 4 days!!!
    At this time I have 10 published reviews and 20 not recommended 5 star reviews, of which, 7 were previously published. I wonder what happened for them to be no longer recommended.
    Yelp is a fraud!!!! It is an advertisement agency that portraits itself as a user controlled review site.
    Help me boycott Yelp. Power to the users!!!!!

    Reply
  144. Keith Lathrop

    Its happening to me also, they are removing all my best reviews, They have removed more than half of my reviews all 5 star, maybe we should all look in to legal action and either get this fixed or close it down.

    Reply
  145. Sarah Belles

    I completely agree with Cheryl Arnold & Ricardo Giacoman. I just started my business in December, so every review I get is CRUCIAL. So far, I’ve gotten all positive reviews-I go above and beyond for my clients to make sure their experience is great and they are satisfied. Also, every review I’ve been given is from a LEGITIMATE client, that left an honest review of their experience. I have ELEVEN…ELEVEN…total reviews. And guess what? ELEVEN OF THEM ARE “NOT RECOMMENDED”, or-hidden. It’s complete bulls***. I really wish I hadn’t opened an account with yelp, I will never leave another review for anybody via yelp again, and certainly will NEVER EVER pay for advertising through them again. I literally have NO reviews to show on yelp unless a potential client knows to look at the “not recommended” ones. Otherwise, they will scroll right past me and go to the next business. As a new business owner, I need every review I can get-good or bad. F*** YOU yelp. I’m also not the only one (obviously) who’s had this issue. A few of my friends have said the same thing, and that they will not use yelp for said reason.

    Reply
  146. Steve McKee

    Reading these comments is really a long summary of my feelings toward Yelp. My first review was a one star from a person who is desperately trying to seek attention and basically accused myself and his former girlfriend of theft not just petty theft but a felony chargeable action. I brought it to Yelps attention and they did nothing. I have other favorable reviews but they remain hidden. Yelp is a joke gone bad in my opinion.

    Reply
  147. monte

    A review I posted about a cremation service has disappeared after they provided such good care after my father had passed. When I tried to recommend their services to a friend they could not find my review or that of 25 out of 27 reviews. I do not trust yep anymore and will delete their app most certainly.

    Reply
  148. Chanda Mcfarland

    All of my good Yelp reviews always disappear after they call and ask me to pay to advertise and I turn them down. It has now happened on 3 separate occasions. The last time they called me was last Friday and by Monday, the last of my good reviews were moved down again to not recommended. All of my reviews were legitimate customers. If you don’t help line Yelp’s pockets, then your reviews go away. Sorry excuse for a business. I wish someone would start a class action suit against them. I would definitely join!

    Reply
  149. John Selva

    Yelp is con actor company, they are a thief company, a crook company. If you pay, if you advertise with them, they will keep and maybe even reinstate your reviews.

    Bellow is the excuse that they use:

    “We use automated software to recommend the reviews we think will be the most helpful to the Yelp community based primarily on quality, reliability and the reviewer’s activity on Yelp. Advertisers get no special treatment. The reviews below didn’t make the cut and are therefore not factored into this business’s overall star rating. Watch the video above or check out our FAQ for more details.”

    Reply
  150. Glenn Stewart

    I’m in the same boat as everyone who posted above… If all business owners on Yelp stop paying for ads, would Yelp go under?

    Reply
  151. Jacqueline Rusher

    Yelp is a dinosaur, the only reason I even entertain the idea of keeping it up to date is that it is attached to apple maps! Would like it to be removed. It is not accurate~ very unfortunate that the company can’t listen to its customers (ie businesses that purchase add content and the customers relying on accurate information that keep having their reviews taken down) they really missed the mark.

    Reply
  152. Lewis

    Yelp is a nuisance service.
    They have had reps call our company repeatedly begging to get business profile.
    When we refused suddenly the good reviews on yelp were removed and the negative ones stayed.
    Do not trust this company.
    Others have told is there reviews for us were never posted.
    Yelp is not a reputable company.

    Reply
  153. Danielle Stryker

    Yelp has removed every review I made. Yelp has removed all legitimate reviews from some businesses and leave only negative reviews from people with no history on yelp and who have never been to the business they are reviewing. Even after reporting it, yelp dis nothing. Some businesses have no stars and 0 reviews because yelp removed ALL the reviews. ALL of them. How does that work? How does the yelp algorithm do that? One review I reported was an anti-semitic, anti-woman, homophobic comment and yelp says it’s fine. So a person with no friends, no other reviews, who even claims to have never been to this business, and has anti-semitic influences, counts more then someone who is reviewing something they have actually used? That’s a problem. So wether it’s yelp or the yelp algorithm, I suggest they do something about it.

    And if you’re a small business owner who’s business has been negatively effected by Yelp and their broken review system, and you’re interested in a possible class action lawsuit, contact me.

    Reply
  154. Mark

    I’m just a user, but I feel for business owners who have to deal with Yelp’s BS. I write thoughtful, honest, substantive reviews. I put a lot of time and thought into my reviews and they’re intended to help customers find places they’ll enjoy patronizing and also let businesses know where they need work. My reviews regularly get get swept into the “not recommended’ bin for reasons that Yelp chooses not to share. I gave up and deleted my Yelp account today. I’m not going to waste my time writing reviews that Yelp chooses to hide. I hate that I can’t help shine a light on businesses that deserve it but I’m done wasting my time.

    Reply
  155. Robert

    Please. Yelp deletes reviews on small businesses if they are unable to sign you up for premium services. It’s very easy to test this. Just ask anyone who has reviewed places on Yelp especially someone with many reviews.

    Then wait. You will get a call from Yelp within 48 hours attempting to sell you premium services. Say no (trust me you will waste that money).

    Then wait. Within one or two days the review will mysteriously vanish with no reason why. The reviewer does not know nor does the business. And this happens every single time. One customer of ours noticed this and alerted us about it so we asked four others to do the same thing. In every single instance the very same exact thing happened.

    Do not trust Yelp, Do not use Yelp. Stop reviewing. Stop using. The BBB has over 1000 reviews similar to this and a HUGE warning across the top of the business page warning possible clients that they have been ripping people off who did pay. Yelp is done. Use Four Square.

    Reply
  156. Steven Chagnon

    If someone is aware of a class action lawsuit against Yelp and their deleting real reviews as retribution for not being strong armed into their advertising program than please let me know. Tennis League Network has 30+ entries across 30 yelp entries. We have logged all the deleted reviews by honest people, the current rate is that barely 25% of the new reviews are being kept. This is targeted by Yelp. We have all the data. We will gladly join a class action lawsuit. They are betting a smaller organization like ours won’t go on our own to sue Yelp. We’re starting to get closer to have the means to do it.

    Reply
  157. Randy Barnes

    I would love to join a class action lawsuit against yelp. They try to blackmail you into advertising with them by deleting your 5 star reviews. FYI they reappear if you advertise with them.

    Reply
  158. Caffeine Tech

    They do the same thing to me . As soon as I receive a review on google they take one out on yelp . I used to have 15 positive reviews now I only have 7 . I will never advertise with them and sad that I actually did when I first open my business . I m truly thinking about filing a complaint with the business bureau .

    Reply
  159. Don

    I have 70 reviews for my business, and only 14 show up.
    When I complain I’m told it’s an automated algorithm.
    I’ve seen dozens of class action lawsuits threatened, and the ones that make it to court have failed.
    Seems hopeless.

    Reply
  160. Mayra

    I have a small business and made the huge mistake in creating a yelp business account. All of the reviews (not many since it’s a new account) are from customers who we’ve provided services to. Yelp has taken it upon themselves to hide these reviews because these customers are not avid yelp users or have any friends following them on yelp. It clear that what Yelp is doing is illegal and is biased in using this algorithm to increase its own business footprint. Unfortunately, they do not allow you to remove your business from their site, which I believe is also illegal. I will never recommend this site to anyone. People should have the ability to leave a recommendation for a business they interacted with, without Yelps trying to force users to have a minimum amount of interaction which is completely a means to grow their platform.

    Reply

Comment